Lies of P, Blaming the Controller, and Taking Accountability (3-13-24)

Last week was about being open to suggestions from anywhere and anyone.  This week is about Lies of P, failing, and blaming the controller vs taking accountability.

I died dozens of times when playing Lies of P.  You can imagine how frustrating it was to fall short over and over again.  When I died in the video game the easiest thing to do was to blame the controller.  Obviously, I did all the right things, the controller is just bad (#sarcasm).  While that might make me feel better and absolve me of any accountability, it also takes away my power to improve.  If I truly put all the responsibility on the controller, then the only way the problem can be resolved is if the controller is magically fixed, which isn’t going to happen.  This means I’m now stuck and powerless in that situation.  However, if I’m willing to take accountability, then I have the power to change.  I can begin to look at the root cause, and then find a way forward.  Maybe that means I need to change my attack strategy.  Maybe that means I need to level up my character.  Maybe it means I need to increase my understanding of the game mechanics and how to use them.  Maybe it means I need to ask for help.

What does this have to do with anything?  Have you ever fallen short at work?  I know I have.  When you fell short have you ever “blamed the controller” instead of taking personal accountability?  Did you ever blame the situation, the leader, the lack of clear direction, a teammate, or someone or something else?  I know I have.  Similar to our video game story, when I put all the responsibility on external circumstances or people, I also give up my power to fix things.  However, if I’m willing to take accountability, then I have the power to change.  I could look at the failure and understand the root cause.  Maybe, I lacked an understanding of what I needed to accomplish, which means in the future I can ask better questions.  Maybe, I didn’t have the skills, which means I can improve my skillsets and ask for help.  Maybe I totally misunderstood the situation, which means I could do a better job of slowing down and figuring things out first.  Maybe, I had conflicting direction, which means I can pull those people in the room and say, “I’m hearing you say X.  I’m hearing you say Y.  We need to decide what the path is.”  The bottom line is if I take accountability, then I claim my power to change things instead of being at the whim of external forces and circumstances.

The challenge: Will you take accountability or will you “blame the controller”?

Have a jolly good day,

Andrew Embry

Leave a comment